Search form



As a private university, Jacobs University Bremen is independent from government control of its mission, strategic direction, and resources. Jacobs University Bremen is governed by an independent board of governors who serve as trustees of the resources and mission of the institution. The Jacobs University Bremen Board of Governors is comprised of leading figures from the world of international business, politics and academia.
The Board is responsible for monitoring the implementation of Jacobs University Bremen’s guiding principles, ensuring adequate resources for the operation of the university, and for approving budgets and personnel recommendations put forward by the President. The President is responsible for all administrative and academic operations of the university.
Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH is a registered non-profit organisation. In accordance with its statutes, it comprises four bodies: the Councilors, the Board of Trustees, the Board of Governors and the Executive Board, which comprises the President and the Managing Director of the university. The Board of Governors is the main decision-making body for all fundamental issues that affect the development of the university, including the appointment of the president and professors.
Jacobs University Executive Board
Office of the President
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Katja Windt

Office of the Managing Director
Prof. Dr. Michael Hülsmann
Jacobs University Bremen Board of Governors
As of: October 2016
Prof. Dr. E. Jürgen Zöllner (Chair of the Board)
Member of the Executive Board, Charité Foundation, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Jutta Allmendinger
President, Social Science Research Center Berlin (Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin), Berlin
Dr. h.c. Erik Bettermann
Chairman of the Board of Trustee of Welthungerhilfe, Former Director General, Deutsche Welle, Bonn
Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius
Head of Habitat group and HGF-MPG Group for Deep Sea Ecology and Technology, Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology
Dr. Werner Brinker
Former Chairman of the Managing Board, EWE AG, Oldenburg
Andrew S. Douglas, PhD
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore
Marco R. Fuchs
Chief Executive Officer, OHB System AG, Bremen
Sandro Giuliani
Managing Director, Jacobs Foundation, Zurich
Martin Günthner
Senator for Economic Affairs, Labor and Harbor, Bremen
Dr. Joh. Christian Jacobs
Honorary Chairman, Jacobs Foundation, Zurich
Prof. Dr. Otfried Jarren
Prorector, Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Zurich, Zurich
Ingo Kramer
Managing Partner, J. Heinr. Kramer Holding GmbH, Bremerhaven
Prof. Dr. David W. Leebron
President, Rice University, Houston
Prof. Dr. Karin Lochte
Director, Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Bremerhaven
Peter Lürßen
Managing Director, Fr. Lürssen Werft GmbH & Co. KG, Bremen
Prof. Dr. Reimar Lüst (Ehrenvorsitzender)
Founding Chair 1999-2004, International University Bremen
Ursula M. May
Head of Resource Management and Training, Siemens Wind Power GmbH, Hamburg
Albert Schmitt
Managing Director, Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
Anne Valtink
Jacobs Alumna, Class of 2013
Chair, Jacobs University Bremen Alumni & Friends Stiftung GmbH, Bremen, Senior Consultant, Oliver Wyman GmbH, Munich
Prof. Dr. Hildegard Westphal
Director, Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Ecology, Bremen